techsnapshots

Stay hungry Stay foolish….

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

  • Follow me on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

FGPP at Windows 8 server

Posted by techsnapshots on April 6, 2012


 Windows 8 server significantly cut short FGPP configuration. Now it is more simple and quick. 

Image

this is the default password policy for the domain 

Image

Go to the Active Directory Administrative Center. and highlight the domain (here Contoso is highlighted ) in the Middle pane it shows the Folders with Type in that choose Password Settings container and on right Task Pane it shows the action items. 

Image

From right pane Tasks item choose new- > Password settings 

Image

Provide a name and selects the options that suits your requirements . for  example ,  here i have chosen  the password length minimum 5 char  and modified some other settings with new values.  further below put Rita Simon as my trarget object. target object will be only users or Group

Image

FGPP is configured. The Precedence is 1. its mean, it has higher priority. the user and group objects may have multiple FGPP with precedence value. lower the precedence , higher the value it has. 

Image

the user login and try to change her password maintaining the minimum length of 5 character .

Image

the user is able to log in with her new and short password configured with FGPP. 

FGPP in window server 2008 

5 Responses to “FGPP at Windows 8 server”

  1. […] Creating fine grained password policies through GUI Windows server 2012    FGPP at Windows 8 server Posted: Tuesday, September 04, 2012 10:15 AM by Sander Berkouwer Filed under: Active Directory, […]

  2. google said

    Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i
    was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  3. Franchesca said

    I blog often and I seriously appreciate your information. The article has really peaked my
    interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for new details about once
    a week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

  4. First of all I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.

    I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any suggestions or tips? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
